With clear evidence that the cut sustained by Stephan Bonnar in his fight against Krzystztof Soszynski at UFC 110 was caused by an accidental headbutt, it seemed like a no-brainer for the Combat Sports Authority of NSW to overturn the victory the ref awarded to K-Sos. Surprise, surprise, it wasn’t.
The Combat Sports Authority of New South Wales, which was tasked with regulating the February event in Sydeny, Australia, ruled this past Tuesday that the official result ruling the fight a TKO win in favor of Soszynski stands.
“A review was held … and the Combat Sports Authority of NSW did not seek to interfere with the referee’s decision,” wrote Craig Waller, Executive Director of the Combat Sports Authority of New South Wales, in an email sent to MMAjunkie.com (www.mmajunkie.com) late Tuesday night.
It’s baffling how an athletic commission even with smoking gun evidence can refuse to make the right call in such a situation, but unfortunately it’s what we’ve come to expect with these regulatory bodies. It just sucks for Bonnar who now has an official L on his record he doesn’t deserve. He’s disappointed, but believes the UFC will at least give him an immediate rematch.
“It was obviously a battle between me and [the NSW commission], but as far as the fight, Dana White’s a fair guy, and I’m pretty confident we’ll have that rematch soon,” Bonnar told MMAjunkie.com.
Rumor has it the rematch will go down on June 19 at the TUF 11 Finale in Las Vegas. At least they have instant replay there in case lightening somehow strikes twice.