twitter google

UFC Considering Earlier Start Time For Pay-Per-Views, Starting With UFC 129

For as long as I can remember, UFC pay-per-views have always started at 10PM ET/7PM PT in North America.

That may change however, according to a report on MMA Fighting.

Word is the UFC is considering kicking off their pay-per-view broadcasts an hour early at 9PM ET/6PM PT. While it’s only under consideration for all events, MMA Fighting’s Mike Chiappetta is hearing it’s going to happen with UFC 129 either way (UFC 128 will remain at normal starting time). Apparently, the UFC thinks they can attract a larger east coast audience with the earlier start time.

At least part of the idea, according to sources, is to take advantage of the earlier time to attract more east coast viewers going forward.

The rationale for the decision makes sense statistically. Nearly half of the United States’ population of 300 million people are located in the eastern time zone. In addition, major Canadian MMA markets in Toronto and Montreal are among six of the 10 most populated cities in Canada that call the eastern time zone home.

As someone who lives on the east coast, I welcome the change. A 9PM start sounds perfect to me, but I imagine the west coasters wouldn’t be too happy about it, especially when you factor in the Facebook and Spike TV prelim specials. You’re suddenly talking about a 4PM start time.

What do you guys think? Yay? Nay?

Follow MMAConvert

Fight Cards

UFC on FOX 26: Lawler vs. dos Anjos

Event Date: December 16, 2017
Broadcast: Fox

UFC 219

Event Date: December 30, 2017
Broadcast: TBD