Brian Stann ‘Didn’t Want To Miss Opportunity’ To Welcome Hector Lombard To The UFC

Brian Stann has dealt with some heavy personal issues over the past few months, mainly the loss of his brother-in-law.

Stann, despite the tragedy, did his best to go about his business, defeating Alessio Sakara in April.

Now, while still helping his family cope with the loss of someone who was just 26 years old, the military veteran couldn’t pass up the opportunity to face Hector Lombard.

Stann-Lombard has been confirmed and will likely take place on August 4 at UFC on FOX 4 from Los Angeles. While the timing isn’t great, the challenge is.

“Wasn’t given many options on the timing of the fight and I didn’t want to miss the opportunity,” Stann posted on his Twitter account when asked if by signing to face Lombard things were improving with his family. He continued, “Big thx to everyone asking about my family, we are moving fwd and sometimes there are opportunities we can’t pass up, my wife will be by my side.”

Stann’s 12-4 in his career, including 4-1 in his last five fights. Lombard, who left Bellator Fighting Championships to sign with the UFC as the middleweight champion of the promotion, is 24-0-1 in his last 25 fights.

Stann, however big the challenge may be, has something the UFC – and fight fans all around the world – can feed off: passion. With his military background, his willingness to take on all comers, and his style, Stann is a favorite inside the Octagon. Lombard will be just the next challenge in his life.

Photo credit: Dave Mandel/Sherdog

  • Cduncan18

    Lombard is going to kill him

  • LeoLarios

    Hell yeah Brian stann!! Never back down.

  • Ben Rage

    This will be interesting. I’m never convinced about how great someone is until they’ve tested the waters of the UFC. Perfect match for fans of Lombard and Stann. A win win in my book. 

    • Miranduh

      Exactly. The UFC is just a different proving ground. It’s tough because I like Brian Stann alot, but I would hate to see Lombard be a disappointment. I don’t think Lombard is going to KO Stann, I expect this to be a grueling three round war, or a submission win by Hector because he has a better backround on the ground.

Follow MMAConvert

Fight Cards

UFC 172: Jones vs. Teixeira

Event Date: April 26, 2014
Broadcast: Pay-per-view, Fox Sports 1, UFC Fight Pass

Bellator 118: Dantas vs. Warren

Event Date: May 2, 2014
Broadcast: Spike TV, Spike.com

Bellator 119: Cooper vs. Halsey

Event Date: May 9, 2014
Broadcast: Spike TV

UFC Fight Night 40: Brown vs. Silva

Event Date: May 10, 2014
Broadcast: Fox Sports 1, UFC Fight Pass

Bellator 120: Alvarez vs. Chandler III

Event Date: May 17, 2014
Broadcast: Pay-per-view

UFC 173: Barao vs. Dillashaw

Event Date: May 24, 2014
Broadcast: Pay-per-view, Fox Sports 1, UFC Fight Pass