twitter google

Bellator Sets Up Season Eight Welterweight Tournament Field

For eight fighters, the road to glory leads to Ben Askren and the Bellator welterweight championship.

Bellator will begin the eighth season tournament for 170-pounders on January 24. The winner of the tourney will earn $100,000 and a match for the Bellator title – currently held by Askren.

Askren will be defending the belt the same night on Spike TV against Karl Amoussou.

Marius Zaromskis, Brent Weedman, Douglas Lima and Ben Saunders are among those in the field. Below is the complete bracket for the event.

Follow MMAConvert

Fight Cards

Bellator 162: Shlemenko vs. Grove

Event Date: October 21, 2016
Broadcast: Spike TV

Bellator 163: McGeary vs. Davis

Event Date: November 4, 2016
Broadcast: Spike

UFC Fight Night 98: Dos Anjos vs. Ferguson

Event Date: November 5, 2016
Broadcast: TBD

Bellator 164: Koreshkov vs. Lima

Event Date: November 11, 2016
Broadcast: Spike Sports

UFC 205: Alvarez vs. McGregor

Event Date: November 12, 2016
Broadcast: Pay-per-view, Fox Sports 1, UFC Fight Pass

Bellator 165: Chandler Vs. Henderson

Event Date: November 19, 2016
Broadcast: Spike TV