twitter google

UFC Fight Night 89: Winners, Numbers Revealed

ufc fight night 89

Stephen Thompson proved he can go 25 minutes with the best in the world Saturday night at UFC Fight Night 89, dominating former title contender Rory MacDonald in the main event.

Thompson cemented his status as the next contender in the welterweight division, besting MacDonald in his home country.

In the co-main event, Donald Cerrone capped a record six third round finishes when he stopped Patrick Cote. Olivier Aubin-Mercier, Joanne Calderwood, Misha Cirkunov, Joe Soto and Colby Covington all did the same earlier in the night.

Soto and Covington were competing on the same card for the first time, as both were standout wrestlers at Iowa Central Community College in Fort Dodge, Iowa. They were also roommates with Jon Jones during their time together.

Other winners included Steve Bosse, Jason Saggo, Krzysztof Joto, Elias Theodorou, Randa Markos and Ali Bagautinov.

Bosse and Sean O’Connell were named “Fight of the Night,” while Cerrone and Jotko each scored “Performance of the Night” honors.

The attendance inside the TD Place Arena in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada was announced at 10,490 with a live gate of $1,278,250.

Complete results can be found below:

Stephen Thompson def. Rory MacDonald via unanimous decision (50-45, 50-45, 48-47)

Donald Cerrone def. Patrick Cote via TKO (strikes) at 2:35 of Round 3

Steve Bosse def. Sean O’Connell via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-27)

Olivier Aubin-Mercier def. Thibault Gouti via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:28 of Round 3

Joanne Calderwood def. Valerie Letourneau via TKO (strikes) at 2:51 of Round 3

Jason Saggo def. Leandro Silva via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)

Misha Cirkunov def. Ion Cutelaba via submission (arm-triangle choke) at 1:22 of Round 3

Krzysztof Jotko def. Tamdan McCrory via KO (strike) at :59 of Round 1

Joe Soto def. Chris Beal via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:39 of Round 3

Elias Theodorou def. Sam Alvey via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)

Randa Markos def. Jocelyn Jones-Lybarger via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Colby Covington def. Jonathan Meunier via submission (rear-naked choke) at :54 of Round 3

Ali Bagautinov def. Geane Herrera via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Follow MMAConvert

Fight Cards

UFC 220: Miocic vs. Ngannou

Event Date: January 20, 2018
Broadcast: PPV, Fox Sports 1, UFC Fight Pass

Bellator 192: Lima vs. MacDonald

Event Date: January 20, 2018
Broadcast: Paramount Network

Bellator 193: Larkin vs. Gonzalez

Event Date: January 26, 2018
Broadcast: Paramount Network

UFC on FOX 27: Jacare vs. Brunson 2

Event Date: January 27, 2018
Broadcast: Fox, Fox Sports 1, UFC Fight Pass