Jon Jones & Matt HamillRemember how there were questions over whether Matt Hamill couldn’t continue in the Jon Jones fight because of the illegal elbows or the shoulder injury, and what that meant for the official ruling? Well, Matt Hamill’s trainer said it was due to the shoulder injury, and now Jon Jones’ camp is going to appeal the decision.

Jon Jones will file an appeal over the final decision of his recent disqualification loss to Matt Hamill, his co-manager Jason Genet confirmed to FanHouse.

According to Genet, the appeal will come over the issue of whether Hamill was unable to continue because of the illegal strikes, or because of a shoulder injury that he sustained during the fight and later mentioned in his post-fight interview.

Jones’ managers, Gary Marino and Ryan Ciotoli, made their case in an interview with TheGarv. What should the ref have done differently?

Gary Marino: The ref said to Matt Hamill, “Are you done?” but Matt didn’t answer and he called the fight.   If he would have stood Matt up, cleaned the blood out of his eyes, and brought in his interpretor, he would have found out right there that Matt could not continue due to the shoulder injury.  The commissioner  said at the press conference that if an illegal blow is the cause of the end of the fight, then it has to be ruled a DQ.  But in reality, the illegal elbows did not end the fight, it was the shoulder injury.  If the ref had communicated better, he would have seen it was the shoulder not the nose.

Ryan Ciotoli: I also think that Matt felt he’d lost the fight and didn’t see Mazzagatti standing over him.   Mazzagatti should have cleaned off  Matt’s face and brought in the doctor to evaluate him.   Brazilians have translators;  Matt does as well.  But his interpretor was not used by the ref.  Jones did throw some questionable elbows.  Jon was looking for a different angle and it wasn’t intentional.  And if you look at the slow motion replay, it doesn’t look like 12 to 6, there was a curve to it.  Maybe 12 to 7 or 12 to 8.  Plus there was no warnings from the ref prior to the stoppage.  So you feel the ref could have communicated better with Hamill?

Gary Marino: Absolutely.  He seemed to forget that he was dealing with a guy who was deaf.  If a guy gets a low blow would you stop it if he didn’t respond to a question because he was gagging from the pain?  No. You would communicate with him.  The ref should have checked his condition. There was a definite lack of communication. The illegal elbow did not contribute to the stoppage, it was the shoulder separation.  If he would have communicated properly with Hammill, he would have realized it was the shoulder.

Obviously, Jones should have never struck Hamill with the 12-6 downward elbow strikes whether he knew they were illegal or not, so I tend to think he should chalk this up to a lesson learned. However, his managers do have a point, and I don’t believe their completely unjustified in filing the appeal.

Now, whether or not the NSAC will actually do anything about it is a different question entirely. Considering Keith Kizer’s stance on the situation, they probably shouldn’t get their hopes up.

Image via Sherdog