Fighters Only’s 2011 World MMA Awards went down earlier tonight at the Pearl at the Palms Casino Resort in Las Vegas.

The show was filmed, but it won’t air until Sunday, Dec. 11, on Fox Sports Net at 8pm ET/PT. Chael Sonnen and Molly Querim hosted the event, so even if you know the winners, it’s probably worth checking out just to see Sonnen do his thing.

The results are below for those who want spoilers. The awards were based on achievements from September 2010 – August 2011 so don’t get pissed when you don’t see Shogun vs. Hendo nominated for Fight of the Year.


Winners in bold

International Fighter of the Year

Michael Bisping
Alexander Gustafsson
Joachim Hansen
Alistair Overeem
Dennis Siver

Gym of the Year

Alliance MMA
Black House
Jackson’s MMA
Xtreme Couture

Referee of the Year

Herb Dean
“Big” John McCarthy
Dan Miragliotta
Josh Rosenthal
Mario Yamasaki

Comeback of the Year

Marloes Coenen vs. Liz Carmouche (Strikeforce: Feijao vs. Henderson)
Cheick Kongo vs. Pat Barry (UFC Live 5)
Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira (career)
Tito Ortiz (career)
Joe Warren vs. Joe Soto (Bellator 27)

Best Technical Equipment

Bad Boy

Journalist of the Year

John Morgan
Gareth A. Davies
Josh Gross
Ariel Helwani
Ben Fowlkes

Coach of the Year

Rafael Cordeiro
Eric Del Fierro
Cesar Gracie
Greg Jackson
Shawn Tompkins

Best Lifestyle Clothing

Bad Boy
Form Athletics

Promotion of the Year

Bellator Fighting Championships

Media Source of the Year

“Inside MMA” on HDNet
“MMA Live” on ESPN

Best Technical Clothing

Bad Boy

Personality of the Year

Bruce Buffer
Jacob “Stitch” Duran
Joe Rogan
Bas Rutten
Burt Watson

Female Fighter of the Year

Marloes Coenen
Zoila Gurgel
Sarah Kaufman
Ronda Rousey
Miesha Tate

Entrance of the Year

Yoshihiro Akiyama (UFC 133)
Vitor Belfort (UFC 133)
Dave Herman (UFC 131)
Mark Hominick (UFC 129)
Jason “Mayhem” Miller (DREAM.16)

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Donald Cerrone
Daniel Cormier
Phil Davis
Demetrious Johnson
Brian Stann

Submission of the Year

Chan Sung Jung vs. Leonard Garcia (UFC Fight Night 24)
Pable Garza vs. Yves Jabouin (UFC 129)
Richard Hale vs. Nik Fekete (Bellator 38)
Vinny Magalhaes vs. Viktor Nemkov (M-1 Challenge 25)
Tito Ortiz vs. Ryan Bader (UFC 132)

Ring Girl of the Year

Arianny Celeste
Kelli Hutcherson
Brittney Palmer
Chandella Powell
Mercedes Terrell

Leading Man of the Year

Scott Coker
Lorenzo Fertitta
Marc Ratner
Bjorn Rebney
Dana White

KO of the Year

Patricky “Pitbull” Freire vs. Toby Imada (Bellator 39)
Cheick Kongo vs. Pat Barry (UFC Live 5)
John Makdessi vs. Kyle Watson (UFC 129)
Lyoto Machida vs. Randy Couture (UFC 129)
Anderson Silva vs. Vitor Belfort (UFC 126)

Fight of the Year

Jose Aldo vs. Mark Hominick (UFC 129)
Dominick Cruz vs. Urijah Faber (UFC 132)
Frankie Edgar vs. Gray Maynard (UFC 125)
Nick Diaz vs. Paul Daley (Strikeforce: Diaz vs. Daley)
Diego Sanchez vs. Martin Kampmann (UFC Live 3)

Fighter of the Year

Dominick Cruz
Nick Diaz
Dan Henderson
Jon Jones
Anderson Silva

Lifetime Achievement Award

Shawn Tompkins

Image via Tracy Lee