UFC lightweight champion Benson Henderson went a perfect 3-0 in world title matches during 2012, earning himself the title of Fighter of the Year by his own promotion.

The UFC named its top-10 fighters for the calendar year, and “Bendo” topped a list that includes Jon Jones, Demetrious Johnson, Cain Velasquez and Anderson Silva – all fellow UFC champions.

Henderson defeated Frankie Edgar to win the UFC 155-pound title, and successfully defended it against both Edgar and Nate Diaz.

Henderson joins a list that includes Jones, Edgar, Georges St-Pierre, Rashad Evans and Quinton Jackson as fighters of the year.


1. Benson Henderson (3-0)

2. Jon Jones (2-0)

3. Demetrious Johnson (2-0-1)

4. Matt Brown (4-0)

5. Cain Velasquez (2-0)

6. Stefan Struve (3-0)

7. Cub Swanson (3-0)

8. Mike Pyle (3-0)

9. Anderson Silva (2-0)

10. Costa Philippou (3-0)

Honorable mention: Renan Barao, Chris Weidman, Fabricio Werdum, Johny Hendricks, Francis Carmont, Chris Camozzi, Rafael Dos Anjos, Mike Pierce, Eddie Wineland, Alexander Gustafsson, Rory MacDonald, John Moraga, John Dodson, Donald Cerrone

Photo credit: MMAFighting.com